Jina’s 20th Birthday

“Thanks for a wonderful birthday, Leo,” Jina said. It was her 20th birthday. They were spending the entire day together. So far, he had taken her to Shrek’s Adventure London where they had a blast. Then, they went for lunch at her favorite restaurant. Afterwards, they went to The Luna Cinema where they watched the movie, Grease in the open-air. After leaving the park, he took her for a drive and then, brought her back here to his home for dinner.

She was in her second year at the University of London and they had been dating since the summer of 2021. She knew that his niece, Nicola didn’t approve because of the age difference. Jina was just three years older than her.

Sylvie, Jina’s friend, didn’t think it was such a big deal and she was happy for her. “He’s a very nice man. Don’t let Nicola or other people make you feel bad because you’re dating him instead of a boy your age. People are too hung about about age. And if they have a problem with you dating him because you’re black and he’s white, then, that’s too bad. It isn’t a crime to date someone of another race or culture. There are interracial couples in the Bible.”

“You’re welcome,” Leo replied with a smile.

“I love the bracelet you gave me. It’s beautiful.”

“I’m happy that you feel that way about it. I have something else for you but I’ll give it to you after we’ve had dinner.”

Her curiosity was peaked. What else was he going to give her? Could she wait until after dinner to find out? A quote by Craig Bruce came to her mind. “You usually have to wait for that which is worth waiting for.” She could wait. It wouldn’t kill her to.

For dinner, they had Spiced chicken salad with cashews and cucumber which she absolutely loved. It was followed by Persian-style rice with lamb. The lamb was soft and succulent. It didn’t have that gamey taste at all. The rice was nice and flaky–just the way she liked it.

Leopole watched her in amusement. “Enjoying your dinner?”

“Yes! How did you learn to cook like this?”

“My mother taught me. She believed that boys should learn to cook as well as girls.”

“So, she taught you and your sister?”

“Yes. And I’m thankful that she did. Now I get to impress you with my culinary skills.”

“My mother taught me how to cook too. She said that it would be good for me to know how so that I can take care of myself when I moved out.”

“Sharon has been trying to get Nicola to learn how to cook but she hasn’t been having much success. Nicola isn’t interested in anything domestic as she calls it. It’s a battle to get her to make her bed and clean her room. I pity the man she ends up marrying.”

“Hopefully, she will change long before then.”

“Sharon wishes that she were more like you or Sylvie. The two of you act maturely and responsibly.”

“Well, Sylvie and I are 20 so, we ‘re expected to behave as young adults but Nicola is 17. She’s just a teenager.”

“I’ve seen other 17 year old girls who are more mature than Nicola. I think she’s spoilt and needs to be taken in hand. Sharon needs to put her foot down. She’s the adult which makes her in charge.”

“What about Nicola’s father?”

“He spoils her. I think it’s because he wants to show her that even though he may not be around as much as he would like, he still loves her and wants to make her happy. He travels frequently for work. At times, it seems as if Sharon is a single parent.”

“Why doesn’t he change his job then?”

“He’s the primary breadwinner of the family and the job pays very well. There’s so much uncertainty out there. He doesn’t want to take the risk of leaving this job to find another one which may not pay as well.”

“I can understand that. I probably won’t change my job either if I were in his shoes. Still, it must be tough for him not being at home so much and tough for Nicola and her mother too.”

“Yes, it must be. I try to help out when I can.”

“Are you older or younger than your sister?”

“Younger by two years.”

“Is she fair like Nicola?”

“No. She has dark hair like me. Nicola’s fair like her father’s side of the family.”

“Does your sister have your eyes?”

“No. Hers are more hazel.”

“I love your eyes.”

“Are they the only things you love about me?”

She smiled. “No.”

“Do you think you have room left for dessert?”

“What’s for dessert?”

“Why don’t I show you?” He got up and cleared the table. He returned shortly with a cake. He set it down in front of her and stuck the number 20 candles in the middle. He lit each one. “Happy birthday,” he said.

She stared at the cake. “It’s beautiful!” she exclaimed. “Did you bake it?”

“Yes, I did–this morning.”

“Oh, Leo, this is so amazing. Thank you.”

“You’re welcome. Now, make a wish and blow the candles out.”

She stood up, made a wish and then blew the candles out. He went, got a knife for her to cut the cake. He brought two dessert plates for her to put the slices on. They sat down again. She took a bite of the cake and her eyes lit up. “This is so good. It’s the best cake I’ve ever seen and ate.”

“I’m delighted that you think so.”

“What kind of cake is it?”

“It’s a Persian Love Cake. It’s the first time I’ve baked it for anyone.”

Was this cake what the told her he would give her after dinner? This was a wonderful surprise. She hadn’t expected it at all. It had been ages since she had a birthday cake made for her, made a wish and blew a candle. She was more in love with him now than ever. Now, perhaps her wish would come true one day.

After they finished the cake and washed it down with a glass of non-alcoholic wine, they went into the living-room. They sat on the sofa and talked for a long time. In the background, classical music played. Then, he excused himself, got up and left the room.

He returned a few minutes later. “Remember I said I had something for you but that I will give it to you after dinner?”

She looked at him wonderingly. “Yes.” So, it wasn’t the birthday cake. What could it possibly be?

He got down on his knee before her and in his hand was a little black box. He opened it to reveal an exquisitely beautiful ring. He looked at her. Her eyes were brimming with tears. Taking her hand, he said, “From the first moment I saw you, I knew that my life was about to change. I felt we were like kindred spirits because you wanted to watch Yesteryears and yardsticks, a series which most people find boring. You wanted to hear about my experiences in Kenya where your parents are from. I enjoyed talking to you that day and I looked forward to seeing you again. After you left, I thought to myself, I must be out of my mindShe’s young enough to be my niece. I didn’t know then what I know now. You and I are destined to be together. You’re the woman I want to spend the rest of my life with. Will you marry me, Jina?”

She nodded. “Yes, Leo.”

He slipped the ring on her finger. Then, he cupped her face between his hands and muttered thickly, “I love you.”

“I love you too.” The tears were running down her face now. Her wish had come true.

They kissed and then, celebrated their engagement with another glass of non-alcoholic wine. It was, by far, the best birthday Jina had ever had.

Sources: Design My Night; Everyday Power; Olive Magazine; Newsbreak

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.