Hasani’s Regret & Anele’s Future with Mr. Ebrahim

Hasani watched Anele and her friend, Dimah talking. He was tempted to go over and say hello but he wasn’t sure that he should now after meeting Mr. Ebrahim at the graduation ceremony. It had been a blow when his mother had later told him that Mr. Ebrahim and Anele were courting each other and that there was a very strong possibility that they would get married.

He deeply regretted not standing up to his parents and insisting that he wanted to date Anele the Halal way. He should have challenged them and told them that Anele’s race shouldn’t matter. She was South African and Muslim like them. On the way home, he had been very sullen. His mother tried to get him to stop thinking about Anele. “It’s obvious that she isn’t the one for you. She has already found someone else who is courting her. To be honest, I was surprised. I thought that her parents would want her to be with an African Muslim man, not an Arab.”

Hasani’s angry reply had been, “In Islam, a person’s race or culture doesn’t matter as long as they are true to the faith. Anele and I are both South African and Muslim.”

“I disagree,” his father had said. “I think race and culture are very important. You and Anele share the same nationality and religion but you come from different races and cultures. You mother and I believe that a young woman of our race and culture would be a better suited prospect for you.”

“I think Farha would be the perfect choice for you,” his mother had concluded. “She has all the qualities that would make her a very good Muslim wife.”

“Do you agree with that, Baba?” Hasani had asked his father.

“Yes, I do. “You and Farha have known each other since you were children. It has always been our wish and her parents’ that you two would marry one another. You would have everyone’s blessing if you do.”

“I’m twenty-two, Baba. That means I’m an adult and that no one can’t force me to marry someone I don’t love.”

“We’re not forcing you to do anything,” his mother retorted. “All we’re saying is that Farha is a better choice for you than Anele.”

“And I disagree. Anele was the better choice for me.”

“Anele has made her choice,” his father interjected. “And, the best thing for you to do is to forget about her.”

Hasani looked at Anele now and wondered how he could forget about her. His phone vibrated and he pulled it out of his pocket. He glanced at the screen. It was a text from his friend, Malik. It said, “Heard from Idris. Anele’s getting married.” Idris was Anele’s cousin.

Hasani’s heart sank. He had hoped that if things didn’t work out between Mr. Ebrahim and Anele, that there would still be a chance for him. Now, his hopes were all dashed. He slipped the cell back into his breast pocket. He would reply to it later. After casting one last look at Anele, he turned and walked away.

“So, are you excited?” Dimah asked.

“Yes.”

“Do you think his parents would come for the wedding?”

“I’m sure they will.”

“How did you like Dubai?”

“The weather is extremely hot at this time of the year, the people are rich, the city is very safe, public transportation is affordable and it’s so easy to get around. Foreign and visiting women do not have to wear hijab or completely cover themselves at all times. Dubai is a vibrant and exciting city and English is widely spoken there. “

Image: Pexels-Monstera

“What was Mr. Ebrahim’s family like?”

“They were very nice. They made my parents and me feel so welcome–as if we were already a part of their family.”

“Sounds like they were much different from Hasani’s parents.”

“Yes. They’re very different.”

“I’m happy to hear that. I still can’t believe that Hasani’s parents rejected you just because you’re not Indian.”

“They liked me but not for their son.”

“Well, you’ve moved on. I feel sorry for Hasani, though. He really liked you.”

“I hope he will marry whom he wants to marry and not whom his parents want him to marry.”

“I hope so too. Anele, if you hadn’t met Mr. Ebrahim, would you still be hoping that Hasani would stand up to his parents and court you?”

“I don’t think so. I believed that if he and I were meant to be together, it would have happened.”

“I like Hasani and I like Mr. Ebrahim too.”

“I’m glad you like Mr. Ebrahim.”

“Have you and he decided where you’re going for your honeymoon?”

“Istanbul & Cappadocia, Turkey.”

“That sounds very good. I’ve always wanted to go to Turkey.”

“The flight from Cape Town to Istanbul is about 11 hours.”

“That’s a very long flight. I don’t know if I can be on a plane that long. What will you do?”

“Mr. Ebrahim and I will talk. Take a nap. And I will take the book I’m reading.”

“What’s the name of the book?”

Under An Afghan Sky.”

“I read it a couple of years ago. It’s very good.”

“Mandisa lent it to me.”

“Speaking of Mandisa, we’re supposed to be meeting her at Greenmarket Square.”

“Yes, we’d better head over there now.”

Sources: Packs Light; Shipit; ROOH Travel; HHWT; Prokeraia; Love Cape Town

2 thoughts on “Hasani’s Regret & Anele’s Future with Mr. Ebrahim

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.