It’s That Time of Year

Well, Christmas is here.  Families will soon be exchanging presents, having big breakfasts and enjoying one of the busiest seasons of the year.  It seemed a long way off and many of us kept procrastinating, believing that we had lots of time to send our Christmas cards off and to do our shopping but before we knew it, the holidays were fast approaching.

All the stores here in Toronto closed at 6pm so I pity those who waited until Christmas Eve to do their shopping.  I was in the drugstore on Friday buying cards and the place was packed.  The area where the cards were was really small and I had several people breathing down my neck as we all tried to choose cards for our families and that special someone.  I spent longer than I planned because the selection wasn’t that great.  It didn’t help that I had to meet my husband at a certain time and time was flying or that I was having a meltdown because the place was hot because of all those people milling around.

I was thankful, though that I got out of work early so that my husband and I could go shopping for our little guy while he was at daycare, which fortunately for us, was a full day yesterday.  We didn’t have the list of toys I had written for him so we had to improvise and we were quite pleased with what we ended up buying.  He is going to be one happy little camper.

Today will be a busy day for us as we will be preparing a special breakfast, dinner and visiting my family.  Last night my husband baked two fruitcakes.  We already sampled one–yummy.  The gifts are wrapped and under the tree.  I don’t know what presents my husband has gotten for me but I know that whatever they are, I will gladly receive them.  I am thrilled just to be spend another Christmas with the family God blessed me with and to be able to see our son’s face light up when he opens his presents.  He is at the age where he can truly enjoy the season.

This is a special time of the year for me.  It’s that time of year when families get together and spend quality time together.  It’s that time of year when people and workplaces donate unwrapped toys to Toy Mountain so that on Christmas morning, needy children can open presents.  It’s that time of year when people are more generous.  It’s that time of year when we think of our loved ones who are no longer with us and we share wonderful memories of them as we sit around the fireplace.

It’s that time of year when Christians celebrate the birth of their Savior.  It’s that time of year when we are thankful and grateful to God for sending His Son into the world.  It’s that time of year when we wish each other joy and peace.  It’s that time of year when we are mindful of the many blessings we have and that the greatest present we could ever receive or give to someone is Jesus Christ.

Notes to Women would like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas.  May the Lord bless you and keep you this holiday season.  May you receive the gifts of peace and happiness.

The gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord – Romans 6:23

Leave a Reply

