Whose Child Is This?

When I read this devotional, it touched my heart.  It is as if it were meant for me.

Today’s reading: 1 Samuel 1:21–28

Additional Scripture Readings: Psalm 66:19–20; Proverbs 3:5–6

Have you ever prayed Hannah’s words as your own?

I have. Several times. Eagerly I’ve asked for God to take charge of my children. Out of fear that I might “ruin” them, I hand them over to him.

But as I give my children to God, I often hear him ask, “Do you really trust me with your children? Do you trust me to get them to school safely?”

“Yes!” I respond.

“Do you believe that I can guide them through an illness?”

“Of course!”

“How about deciding if they will marry—and who?”

“Better you than I!” I say.

“Then do you trust me to select the very best mother for your children and for who I want them to become?”

We can be the mothers our children need because God divinely chose us for the job. Don’t doubt it. He knows what he is doing. And aren’t we glad!

Source:  NIV Devotions for Mom

As mothers, we tend to worry a lot when it comes to our children.  There are times when we feel inadequate and as if we are not doing a very good job raising them.  We worry that we might say or do something that would have a lasting and negative effect on them and their future.  We worry about their future and their health.  We seek God in pray, spilling our fears and worries at His feet.  Then, we are reminded that He is in charge as well as He never gives us more than we can handle.  He knows what we are capable of better than we do.  And if He places children in our care, then it means that we are equipped to take care of them. 

God loves our children more than we do and that’s saying a lot because we absolutely adore them.  They are His precious gifts to us.  God chose us to be our children’s mothers–caretakers.  He knows best what kind of mothers we would be and He’s there to give us a helping hand.  He too wants what’s best for our children. 

My favorite Bible verse is the promise found in Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”  God has plans for all of us.  He has plans for our children and they are for their good.  He is a God of love and order.  He will direct their steps. 

When those doubts return and you find yourself wondering if you were cut out for being a Mom, just remember that God chose you to do this awesome job.  He chose you to be a steward of that precious life which He will mold into whom He wants your child to be.  And don’t think that you’re doing this alone.  You’re not.  God is right there with you.  And just as He was there with Samuel, Ishmael, David, Daniel, Jesus, to name a few, He will be there for your child, watching him or her grow. 

Don’t worry about your shortcomings.  No one is perfect.  Children don’t come with manuals.  Just be the mothers that your children need.  You can do it.  God says you can and God knows best, doesn’t He?  Trust Him.

Leave a Reply

