Joy

 Though the fig tree does not bud
and there are no grapes on the vines,
though the olive crop fails
and the fields produce no food,
though there are no sheep in the pen
and no cattle in the stalls,
18 yet I will rejoice in the LORD,
I will be joyful in God my Savior – Habakkauk 3:17, 18

I boarded a plane and found my seat.  The gentleman in the seat next to me was a bald fellow, colorfully dressed, sporting a bright, multi-colored paisley jacket.  When we were comfortably seated, I wouldn’t help but ask him, “What do you do for a living?” He asked me why I wanted to know.  I said, “Well, I’m going to assume you are an entertainer of some sort because that jacket has a lot of attitude, and not everybody has the charisma or confidence to pull that off.”

He said, “You’re absolutely right!  You’ve heard of motivational speakers?  Well, I’m an aggravational speaker.  Instead of motivating people, I aggravate them.  I tell them, ‘Stop whining.  Stop complaining.  Stop feeling sorry for yourself.  You’ve got yourself into this mess, now pull yourself up by your bootstraps, and get yourself out.'”  I liked his enthusiasm, but I knew his message missed the mark.

He asked me what I did for a living.  I couldn’t wait to tell him.  “Well, I’m a celebrational speaker.  Instead of just motivating people, I celebrate them.  I tell them, ‘Stop whining and complaining.  Stop feeling sorry for yourself.  Yes, the trouble you’re in is your fault.  Yes, you’ve tried cleaning things up by yourself.  The mess you’re in is just too big for you to handle on your own.  But there is a wonderful solution to your problem.  There is a God who is capable of sorting it all out.  Through an exciting relationship with Jesus Christ, you can discover the wonderful plan God has for your life.'”

Isn’t it good to know your heavenly Father celebrates you instead of just tolerating you?  He does not wish to aggravate or irritate you.  No matter what your circumstances, you have a reason to rejoice.  God really loves you.  That, my friend, is a reason to celebrate!

Source:  Babbie Mason, Women of Faith Devotional Bible, p. 1141

Yes, we have reasons to rejoice and to give thanks everyday.  We have a Father in heaven who loves us and wants what’s best for us.

One response to “Joy

Leave a Reply

