Father’s Day

I still remember some of the things my father did when I was a child.  He used to take me kite flying.  He used to take the family on outings.  I learned my appreciation for classical music, easy listening and classic movies from him.  It was he who used to try to teach me how to fry an egg.  He was the one who used to make sure that I ironed my school uniform and polished my shoes and meticulous about my hygiene.  In many ways, he filled the role that should have been my mother’s.

It was hard for me when my parents divorced.  I still remember my mother asking him to stay in the marriage for my sake but he refused.  It hurt at the time but in retrospect, it was for the best.  I would not have wanted him to remain in an unhappy marriage for my sake.  That would not have been fair to him.  It would have been selfish of me.

Years later, my father is living on his own.  He and I don’t really keep in touch.  I send him birthday, Father’s Day and Christmas cards every year.  I can’t help but notice that he has never sent me a Mother’s Day card even though he has a grandson.  He has never spoken to him.  It hurts.  I want him to acknowledge the wonderful little boy God has blessed my husband and me with.  I want him to write and ask me questions about him.  He is a loving, sweet, adorable, smart little guy.  My mother adores him.  He is her only grandchild.  I wish my father would show more interest in him.  He is the only grandfather my son has.

I will not give up on my dream that one day my father will acknowledge his grandson.  Until then, I will keep sending cards and providing him information to the questions he doesn’t ask about my son. 

I believe that even though your relationship with your father might not be what you hope it would be you should still honor him.  You owe it to him and yourself to still fulfill your duty as a daughter.  He is your father–he is the reason why you are here.  Tomorrow, you celebrate him.

Tomorrow I will be celebrating another father–my husband.  Our son and I will make sure that he has a wonderful day.  He had a early start this week when our son’s daycare treated him and other fathers to a Father’s Day celebration.  The fathers got to hear how much their kids loved and appreciated them. Apparently our son told his teacher that his Dad’s favorite color is pink and that his favorite food is chicken and rice.  He left out the peas.  My husband is Jamaican and he loves peas with his rice. 

My husband got a green sheet of paper with our son’s handprints on it and a blue ribbon at the top so that we can hang it up. On the paper is a typed message which says:

Someday, Dad, my hand will grow just as big.  And someday I’ll be as old.  But until that day I’m just so happy to have your hand to hold.  HAPPY FATHER’S DAY.

My husband enjoyed spending time with our son at the daycare and meeting other fathers.  It is good that one day every year is set aside for fathers.   Sometimes, I think that they are not appreciated enough or that their role in our lives is downplayed.  Fathers play a crucial role in the lives of their children. 

Here are some tips for celebrating Father’s Day:

Show’s On
All kids have a little bit of the thespian in them so help bring out their inner actor with a special play just for dad! Create a funny or special story about how important dads are. Maybe there’s a particular “dad moment” that the kids want to recreate. Whatever you do, be sure to give dad the best (and comfiest) seat in the house. And then sit back and enjoy the show!

Eat Out
Going out for a nice family dinner can be very enjoyable. Since it’s his special day, let dad pick out the restaurant. However, if you have young children who don’t appreciate fine dining and would rather spend their meal running around screaming, eating indoors may not be as pleasant as you would like. But don’t try to hinder your children’s energy. Instead, get a meal to go or make a picnic and head outdoors. Enjoy the day together as a family free from telephones, televisions and computers. Soak up the sun, play a game of catch, go for a walk and run around with your kids.

Treasure Hunt
Make dad work for his Father’s Day presents this year by hiding them around the house. You and your kids can create a treasure hunt, complete with clues, ahead of time. Then, before dad wakes up on Father’s Day, set up the hunt. Don’t forget to throw in a few red herrings to keep dad on his toes.

Get Active
Many charities hold special fundraising events on or around Father’s Day. If there is a particular organization that is important to Dad or your family, then get together and participate in a charity walk to help raise money for a good cause. This is not only a great way to give, but it also helps to raise your children’s awareness of social causes.

Remember Those Passed
People may be gone but that doesn’t mean they are forgotten. If your or your partner’s father or grandfather has passed away, then plan a trip to his grave on Father’s Day. Buy some fresh flowers that your children can place on the grave.

Share stories of your favorite moments with dad or grandpa with your children and remember the words of poet Anne Sexton this Father’s Day:  It doesn’t matter who my father was; it matters who I remember he was (Source:  http://www.itsamomsworld.com/moms_room_seasonal_fathers_day_tips.html).

Notes to Women wishes the men in our lives a Happy Father’s Day!!!

Leave a Reply

